Set Building with Sandybeachgirl – Dining Hall

One of the reasons I started this blog was to share some of my storytelling, stories. Wow, that was an awesome sentence I just typed. Forgive me, I’ve only had one cup of coffee this morning and I was up past 2:30 am. What were you doing up that late Sandybeachgirl? I’m glad you are wondering. I was getting things prepped in game to take pictures of Bridge and Carson’s wedding for Listening to My Heart.

So let me try that first sentence again after having more coffee (a little coffee translation, if you will); by “share some of my storytelling, stories”  I mean explain the process of what goes into storytelling for my stories/blogs. By George, I think she’s got it! (Maybe I’ve had a little too much coffee now. . .)

So I’m going to start a series of posts/segments called “Set Building with Sandybeachgirl.” (and please, feel free to say the title in a cheesy announcer voice. It adds so much to it.)

I do quite a bit of my own building in the Sims, mostly because I am so picky about how I want things to look and then I’m even pickier about the function. Sometimes I just don’t have the time to put into building something and I’ll go to the Sims Resource, Mod the Sims, or I’ve even resorted to Googling to find buildings.

But when it comes to sets for storytelling, I’m even pickier. I think “I can just slap that down and have it done faster than it would take me to look for it online. . .” Yeah. . .That happens, like never. I always start with something that I just decorate inside but the Type A personality comes out and I HAVE to finish it.

I’ll give you an example. This building I’m about to show you will be used for a dinner scene for Bridge and Carson’s wedding chapter. It was just supposed to be a room with tables nicely decorated for a dinner that everyone attends the night before the wedding. Remember, the intent was for one room, decorated on the inside, not the outside.

Okay, so to spare you seeing a gazillion pictures, here’s what the dinning room looks like at the end of the building process:

Screenshot

Well, I got done with that and I thought, if you really wanted to eat, how would you if you don’t have a kitchen. . .

Screenshot-2

Then I started thinking, well, Sims need to sit on couches sometimes and just hangout. . .

Screenshot-3

And of course, unless you want your Sims having an accident, you need a restroom:

Screenshot-4

Then I went outside the building to give it a once over and I saw the roof. I hate auto roof. It never gives it a good roof.

Screenshot-5

So of course I had to fix it:

Screenshot-6

And I also had to give it some siding and do some landscaping:

Screenshot-7

Remember, one room no outside decorating. I can’t help but laugh at myself and what I get myself into. Here are the final pictures of the inside and out:

Screenshot-8 Screenshot-9 Screenshot-11 Screenshot-12 Screenshot-13 Screenshot-14 Screenshot-15

So that’s “Set Building With Sandybeachgirl.” “Tune in next time when we’ll catch up with Sandybeachgirl and her ever continuing process of trying to build Carson and Bridge a new home!” (again, say it out loud in a cheesy announcer voice.)

About BeachyPeasySandy

Sandy | she/her | mom to large humans and 5 cats | variety streamer | Sims storyteller & builder | beach lover | Twitch: BeachyPeasySandy | Gallery ID: BeachyPeasySandy
This entry was posted in Set Building. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Set Building with Sandybeachgirl – Dining Hall

  1. amandralynn says:

    It looks awesome!!! Truly awesome. I can never build things. I tried to build a bookstore once for my story and gave up just placing the walls. Then I just downloaded one. Rofl. Your wedding hall looks very realistic. I can’t wait to see the wedding

    • Thanks Amandralynn! I used to be horrible at building things. I mean HORRIBLE! I started watching tutorials on YouTube and that has helped me a lot. I am all for downloading too but sometimes when I’m envisioning the characters doing something, I get so stuck about how I envisioned it that if I don’t have them do it that way, then I feel like it’s not as good. Which is silly since no one reading knows that that isn’t what I originally thought of. I guess that’s my OCD shining through. 🙂

      Wedding is posted and ready to read. YAY!

      Thanks for reading and commenting on here!

  2. Hi! 😀 I said your title in a British accent, LOL.
    Your dining hall is pretty. I think that it would be great for future weddings/receptions.

    • LLOL! That’s wonderful! (I say in a British accent as well).

      Thanks LateKnight! I may have to use it again. Sometimes I tear down sets and don’t save them when I’m done with them… 😮 Why I do that, I don’t know. Probably for the same reason that movie companies spend millions on sets and them tear them down and throw them out. Makes no sense.

      Thanks for reading and commenting on here!

  3. Taina says:

    I would like to say I’m just like you, but alas, I can’t build worth a damn. So, I spend ridiculous amounts of time searching for the right build…then go in and change almost everything. lol I should just build the damn thing, but I’m not good with exteriors and roofs and room sizes. I can decorate the hell out of a room though!

    le sigh. We all have our quirks.

    • I do that too. Amanda and Chuck’s house is a download and I redecorated quite a bit of it.

      I’ve picked up a couple of things from watching videos and house plans really help me.

      But the quirks make us interesting, don’t they? =D

  4. Lol. I know exactly what you mean about Type A and having to finish it!!!

    It’s better that way though – sooooo many times I’ve found myself re-visiting a place and using it in a completely different way, and on the projects I threw together without that much work I find myself having to re-work the layout ect. It’s better to think it through the first time and create a really complete venue then risk continuity errors later. 🙂

    Even if it means all hours of the morning. Lol

Leave a comment